Friday, January 4, 2013


Dadasaheb Phalke Award and Recipients

  • Friday, January 4, 2013
  • bhushan chhaya
  • Share
  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India’s highest award in Indian cinema industry. It is given annually by the Government of India for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema, to a prominent personality from the Indian film industry for significant contributions to Indian cinema. A committee consisting eminent personalities from the Indian film industry is appointed to evaluate the award.
    Introduced in 1969, the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke, who is considered as the father of Indian cinema, award is given to the film personalities for the development of Indian Cinema and for distinguished contribution, growth and promotion. The award for a particular year is given during the end of the following year along with the National Film Awards. The award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a cash prize of 10 million (increased from 2006) and a shawl.

    Following table illustrates the cash prize’s varied amount over the years:

    Year (Period)Cash Prize
    1969 – 1972A Plaque, a Shawl and 11,000
    1973 – 1976A Gold medal, a Shawl and 20,000
    1977 – 1983A Gold medal, a Shawl and 40,000
    1982 – 2002Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and 1,00,000
    2003 – 2005Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and 2,00,000
    2006 – (till date)Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and 10,00,000

    Here is a table of the recipients from the year 1969:

    2012To be announced
    2011Soumitra ChatterjeeActor
    2010K. BalachanderDirector
    2009D. Rama NaiduProducer
    2008V.K. MoorthyCinematographer
    2007Manna DePlayback Singer
    2006Shayam BenegalDirector
    2005Brij Bhushan ChaturvediDirector
    2004Adoor GopalkrishnanDirector
    2003Mirinal SenDirector
    2002Dev AnandDirector, Producer, Actor
    2001Yash ChopraDirector, Producer
    2000Asha BhonslePlayback Singer
    1999Hrishikesh MukharjeeDirector
    1998Ravi ChopraDirector, Producer
    1997Kavi PradeepLyricist
    1996Shivaji GaneshanActor
    1995Dr. RajkumarActor
    1994Dilip Kumar (Yusuf Khan)Actor
    1993Majrooh SultanpuriLyricist
    1992Dr. Bhupen HazarikaDirector
    1991Bhalchandra Govind PendhakarDirector, Producer, Screenwriter
    1990Akkineni Nageshwar RaoActor
    1989Lata ManeshkarPlayback Singer
    1988Ashok KumarActor
    1987RajkapoorActor, Director
    1986B. Nagi ReddiProducer
    1985V. ShantaramDirector, Producer, Actor
    1984Satyajit RayDirctor
    1983Durga khoteActress
    1982L.V. PrasadActor, Dirctor, Producer
    1981Naushad AliMusic Director
    1980P. JairajActor, Director
    1979Sohrab ModiActor, Director, Producer
    1978Ray Chandra(R.C.) BoralMusic Director, Director
    1977Nitin BoseCinematographer, Director, Screenwriter
    1976Kanan DeviActress
    1975Dhiren GanguliActor, Director
    1974B.N. ReddiDirector
    1973Sulochana (Rubi Myers)Actress
    1972Pankaj MallickMusic Director
    1971Prithivi Raj Kapoor (Posthumously)Actor
    1970Birendra Nath SircarProducer
    1969Devika Rani RoerichActress

    0 Responses to “Dadasaheb Phalke Award and Recipients”

    Post a Comment